Customer Satisfaction vs. Customer Elation

Striving for customer satisfaction is like going for the bronze. You won’t be remembered as the best unless you really exceed the customer’s expectations. Take the phrase “customer satisfaction” out of your vocabulary, and instead strive for “customer elation.” Your customers must be so impressed that they are actually excited to spread the word about you and the exemplary service you provide.
In their book, Raving Fans: A Revolutionary Approach to Customer Service*, Ken Blanchard and Sheldon Bowles write:

Raving Fans Raise the Bar for Acceptable Service –

Your customers are only satisfied because their expectations are so low and because no one else is doing better. Just having satisfied customers isn’t good enough anymore. If you really want a booming business, you have to create Raving Fans.” 
 Once you begin to create a following of your own raving fans, keep track of them in your database with a special code, and track the number of referrals they provide to you.
I have done this in my own business, and when I know I have exceeded my clients’ expectations I send out a personal thank you letter. I remind them that my business is referral based, and if they have a friend or relative who they feel would benefit from the type of service I provide, I would like to meet with them or give them a call.
I continue to stay in touch with the clients in my database on a regular basis. They know I am always available to serve their needs.
Each client receives a minimum of quarterly newsletters, email updates that includes information about the current market conditions. I constantly keep them abreast of their neighborhood market, as well as the local and national markets.  I have the ability to monitor interest rates, inventory and various areas. By using a trigger in mydata base, I am able follow the client and to notify the them if and when an opportunity arises to get them a better rate, or if a particular property becomes available etc…
By providing this type of service, I have acquired a reputation as being much more than a real estate agent who simply just waits; I have established myself as a Trusted Advisor in my community and among my SOI.

“I look forward to meeting with you to discuss the possibility of doing business and providing your friends, family and neighbors with stellar service, which will also be a great reflection on you.”

 

“I know where I’m going and I know the truth, and I don’t have to be what you want me to be.”

~ Muhammad Ali

About Lance Berwald, Coldwell Banker Burnet

I am a real estate aspirant and scholar. Always seeking to learn more about an every changing world and industry. Come and seek the truth about life, real estate and what motivates us each and every day!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Customer Satisfaction vs. Customer Elation

  1. Tricia says:

    Awesome Blog Lance! As ironic as it is, I just got back to my desk from a staff meeting where I talked about this exact thing. Giving great service is simply not good enough. The customer expects great service, we must do better than great!

Leave a Reply

