I am an Optimist

I’m an optimist.  No, I don’t walk around with a fake grin plastered on my face, quoting uplifting platitudes I heard in Amway meetings, but I am an optimist.  I generally expect the best possible outcome or I focus on the most hopeful aspects of any situation — the ones I can do something about.  In fact, that is the very definition of optimism.
Optimism is not being oblivious to what is going on around us, but rather analyzing it, and focusing on  creative solutions that are within our control.  Optimism is not hope.  Optimism is faith, but as the scriptures say, “…faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.”

So why am I writing about optimism?  Because I’ve finally had enough.  If I run into one more Negative Nellie, one more Bitter Betty, one more Downer Danny, one more Pessimistic Pedro, I think I’m going to lose it!  It’s not that we can’t all see the problems going on around us, but rather, it’s a matter of what are we going to do?
I, for one, don’t intend to be at the mercy of the circumstances.  How about you? 

Optimism is not putting on a happy face in the midst of disaster, doing nothing, and pretending everything is great.  No!  Optimism is acknowledging the disaster, maybe even screaming about it, and then focusing on the aspects of the disaster that you have the ability to control.

Thanks for letting me rant…

About Lance Berwald, Coldwell Banker Burnet

I am a real estate aspirant and scholar. Always seeking to learn more about an every changing world and industry. Come and seek the truth about life, real estate and what motivates us each and every day!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

