Muscle Memory

“Action is the foundational key to all success.”

~ Pablo Picasso

5:45am, I rush out my door to have breakfast with an old teammate of mine from North Dakota State.  Dennis, was our “lunch pail” player. He was the guy who had to always
defend the best offensive player on the other team. He did the little things, like pass, rebound, defend. (Trust me…Lance didn’t play very much defense. In fact, some referred to me as the “black hole.” The ball would go into me and never come out! Bob Martin, NO COMMENTS!)

Denny was the guy who came to work, every practice, every game and every day. He was the person you just new would be successful. Long after his basketball playing days were over. Which by the way, he has become. He is the State & National Director of Government Affairs for Johnson & Johnson. Not to shabby for a skinny kid from Waukesha, Wisconsin.

So you might be thinking where is Lance going today? What the heck…I don’t want to know anything about one of his old buddies. The Big Guy is “two donuts short of a
dozen.”
The Upper Deck “doesn’t have both oars in the water.” But I do know where I am headed. Just bear with me….

I asked my very successful buddy one question. I always like to do this when I am around someone that I know is smarter than me and someone I know I can learn something from. I asked Denny, “tell me how you plan your day?”  He responded with a two part answer.

The first part of his response was: “My day starts the night before. I make sure I write down my to do list and get it all on paper (now an iPad), so I can act on it immediately in the morning.” The second part actually made me grin from ear to ear.

The D-Man begins to tell me about how each month he plans his schedule and works his schedule! He tells me how he keeps a log of all of the past months he has been in the medical business and will look back at past months to see what worked for him and what didn’t. But MORE IMPORTANTLY, Dennis, said to me; “Ber, I am always looking for ways to make positive changes in my life. In doing so, I know when I try something NEW or want to change a bad habit etc…I must commit to doing
so for a minimum of 30 days in order to
create a lasting habit.”

30 DAYS!

We then reminisced about an exercise physiology class that we had together and how our instructor spoke about “Muscle Memory.” And how it took a minimum of 1500 – 3000 repetitions before a new swing, a new move etc…would be memorized and locked away in the old cranium.

Considering our Brain is one big muscle, doesn’t it make sense that to make a change you need to stay with it for at least 30 days, no matter what and continue to repeat the process until it is ingrained into our soul and becomes a part of our everyday routine. Until it  goes from unnatural to natural.

“Life well spent is long.”

~ Leonardo da Vinci

About Lance Berwald, Coldwell Banker Burnet

I am a real estate aspirant and scholar. Always seeking to learn more about an every changing world and industry. Come and seek the truth about life, real estate and what motivates us each and every day!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

