Lord of the Rings, Life and the REALTOR

“Through perseverance many people win success out of what seemed destined to be certain failure.”

~ Benjamin Disraeli

3:30am, having been up all night last night. Watching the Lord of the Rings. I have probably viewed this trilogy a dozen times and it doesn’t get old. I loved the books as a kid growing up and the films are absolutely amazing. I don’t sleep much so excuse me if this rant seems a little out there. I got inspired, stimulated even, late last night or early this morning depending on how you want to look at it. Sleep deprivation does strange things…

                       

You tell me if I made you think?

J.R.R. Tolkien has been prodding at my heart, or shall I say Gandalf has been prodding at my heart, to write about “Lord of the Rings.” Either option works.

This prodding about a good, moral movie and book series isn’t weird in itself, but what makes it weird is that I feel I should tie it into the message of living an orderly life. How does “Lord of the Rings” and living a life of order produce a good piece for real estate professionals? Where does my opinion fit in? I guess you can thank the Big Man upstairs for the idea the middle of the night inspiration.

You may scratch your head and ask, “What the heck is an orderly life?” Ultimately, it means to live and to live with order…I know that doesn’t help.

Think about this: Do you feel good and energized? Are you doing well in your business life? Or how about in your social life? Are you healthy and happy? If you say yes to these things then you probably are living very orderly life..

Every time I watch “LOTR” I get inspired to live more orderly. I don’t know why — subliminal messages perhaps.

Here is a long-winded example: To hit the snooze button is kind of giving up on life. I do it. (Actually, I don’t use a snooze button. If I feel like sleeping, I sleep.) We probably all do it, but when I don’t, I am alive. Frodo didn’t hit the snooze button when he became weary on the journey to Mordor. Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli didn’t hit the snooze button in the middle of their Orc slaying. Take a look at what happened to Middle Earth: The good reigned victorious.

We all know what happens after we snooze it for an extra hour: We skip the breakfast we need and rush out the door looking like a dirty, disheveled, grungy occupy Wall Street, Guy or Gal. By the way, Legolas and Aragorn, though sweaty and spattered with blood on occasion, never looked gross. They always looked good (if you catch my drift) and were always prepared for battle.

After this, chances are we show up to the office, “late as usual,” “unprepared as always.” As Frodo said to Gandalf in “The Fellowship of the Ring.” Gandalf replies, “A wizard (REALTOR) is never late, nor is he early. He/She arrives precisely when he means to.” This may be an arrogant example of living orderly, or not a good example at all because we aren’t wizards. But we have an image to maintain. Regardless of what is going on around us.

To eliminate the usage of the snooze button, analyze your night prior to morning. Did you stay up obscenely late working on a listing presentation, you could have prepared for a week ago. Did you play “Just Dance” on the Wii for hours and hours (that would be me…not), or did you drink a bit too much, stay out a little late and just had way too much fun?

I know Merry and Pippin did not have a listing to prep for or play the Wii, but they did drink plenty. Though enthralled by “the pint” (I assume they were of age), they always woke up and did their thing, which was saving Middle Earth with their wee little hearts and wee little courage, living an orderly life indeed.

Finally, “me time” is essential to the living orderly life style. It is the time where we wind down, regain sanity and organize our many thoughts. Gandalf had a great deal of me time when Saruman flung him to the top of the Isengard tower. Just think how much contemplation took place.

I am sorry if you have not watched “Lord of the Rings.” You should be ashamed. I suggest you watch it right now but do it orderly. Split the series up into one-hour increments, and don’t stay up late watching it while drinking, playing “Just Dance” on the Wii or working on a listing presentation. This my friends is not orderly.

I want to live an orderly life because it makes me happy, awake, sane and healthy. Also, if it exists, I want to know I could save Middle Earth.

Thanks for allowing me to rant…

If you don’t make your dreams a reality, reality will take away your dreams.”

~ Mike Newlin

About Lance Berwald, Coldwell Banker Burnet

I am a real estate aspirant and scholar. Always seeking to learn more about an every changing world and industry. Come and seek the truth about life, real estate and what motivates us each and every day!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

