How to Microwave Cold Prospects

louis ck red
“I think you have to try and fail, because failure gets you closer to what you’re good at.”
~ Louis C. K.

I thought I would share a recent piece by a friend of mine. I can’t take the credit for this ditty. (I wish I could).

crying kidWhat’s a good way to get attention?
Be impossible to ignore. (Think a crying baby)

 

 

 

 

What’s a good way to quickly “warm up” cold prospects in your business and turn them into new clients?

message in botSend a message that’s impossible to ignore
Here’s Exhibit A in my arsenal of tools to do just that – a message in a bottle.
Twice in the last few weeks, I’ve mailed it to potential clients who once seemed eager to hire me, but had fallen silent.
Rather than send them an email after email, hoping for a response, I spent a few minutes writing a relevant letter and shipped it out in a bottle, like the one above.

In both cases, response from those cold prospects came the same day – Let’s talk! And resulting revenue was in the mid four figures.
Why does this work? Lots of reasons:

  • Unlike an email, you canNOT delete a message in a bottle. You MUST open and read it.
  • Big, lumpy mail like this canNOT go anywhere but the top of the pile. As a result, it likely gets opened first…by someone wearing a grin.
  • Rather than claim to prospects that I can write sales letters that get opened and read, I prove it to them. In spades.

So, yeah, this works. Four figures are a nice ROI on a bottle and postage that costs less than four bucks.
Now, you may not have access to the dozens of direct-mail tools at my disposal. After all, I am a professional copywriter. Getting my letters opened, read, and responded to is how I earn a living.
But you can adopt this idea in your business. If you have high-value leads that have gone cold, spend a few minutes and dollars to send them a message that’s impossible to ignore. The response could warm your heart.
Thanks, Kevin Donlin for the rant!…

louis ck blue“Life isn’t something you possess. It’s something you take part in, and you witness.”
~ Louis C. K.

About Lance Berwald, Coldwell Banker Burnet

I am a real estate aspirant and scholar. Always seeking to learn more about an every changing world and industry. Come and seek the truth about life, real estate and what motivates us each and every day!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

